Once Upon An Achingly Beautiful Kiss by Bree Wolf

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Once Upon An Achingly Beautiful Kiss, both broke my heart and gave me great joy.  Only a truly gifted author can create living, breathing characters whose choices and consequences touch your soul.  I will not disclose the plot as it unfolds in a strikingly beautiful way that gives depth and warmth.  I will only comment that Christopher and Juliet are torn apart by circumstances and are reunited six years later for a second chance – one that will not come easily.

I first thought to dislike Christopher, but I couldn’t.  His sorrow of past choices and the depth of the love for those he cares for is breathtaking.  Christopher is a simple man who is fallible.  It is what he does to make himself a better man that touched my heart.  Juliet has secretly yearned for Christopher for six years; heartbroken, Juliet doesn’t know what she did to push Christopher away. Juliet has an endless amount of empathy and love.  Juliet is fundamental in Christopher’s journey to peace and acceptance.

The secondary characters are outstanding.  The secondary plot-line of Christopher and his parents is haunting and heart-wrenching.  I warn, there will be tears when you read sections.  However, the happily-ever-after is glorious!  The plot combines a plethora of elements to create a flowing, breathing story.  The pace was spot-on.  The depth of the plot is what astounded me.  Severe, heartbreaking issues are discussed, yet it is done in a caring, healing way.

Once Upon An Achingly Beautiful Kiss is book five in The Whickertons In Love series.  This book delves into our fragility and the ever cruel hand of fate.  However, most importantly, it showcases our resilience and strength to create love and joy from pain and suffering.  Bravo, Bree Wolf, for creating a story I will not soon forget!

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book through the publisher.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Release Date: January 13, 2022

Tempting The Vicar by Liana Le Fey

⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tempting The Vicar is a fun twist of a twin-swap romance.  Reverend Daniel Wayward takes his rakish twin’s, Devlin, place in London after a prank goes wrong.  Miss Olivia St. Peters is infatuated with Devlin Wayward.  Daniel must decline Olivia’s overtures, yet the more Daniel tries, the more besotted he becomes of Olivia.

One reason I picked up this book is because of the twin-swap theme.  Having identical twins in my immediate family, I thought it would be fun to see how accurate Daniel and Devlin were portrayed.  I enjoyed how each sibling was individual.  I especially liked them trading spots. The twins I knew did this a couple of times too!

I found the story charming.  I would have liked to focus more on the connection and romance between Daniel and Olivia.  The first half of the book was redundant at times.  The reason the twins swapped was juvenile, yet it went along with Devlin’s behavior.  The book flowed well and kept my interest.  In the last quarter, I felt the reality of the situation was more clearly depicted.  I enjoyed how this story was messy; there was no easy happiness; effort had to be made for trust to be gained.

Tempting The Vicar is the second book in The Wicked Waywards.  The first book is Devlin’s story.  The book was effervescent and a light, quick read.  Liana Le Fey is an author to watch.  I enjoyed this work and will read more.

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book through Netgalley and the publisher.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Publication Date: January 17, 2022

December BOM And A Look Ahead

Happy New Year, fellow romance lovers!  I hope everyone is having a fantastic January reading all those books you received for the holidays.  For this monthly blog, I am featuring an overview of my December reviews.  I will then share with you my pick for December Book Of The Month.  After that, I will showcase what is coming up for January.  All my book reviews for December can easily be viewed by clicking on the book graphic.  Before we go…here is a special announcement!

📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️

On January 20, 2022, I will be featuring my 2021 year in review.  I will have lots of fun content.  I will choose the five most influential reads of the year.  I will also select my Book Of The Year.  I will have unique content regarding this book, including an author interview.  So come back and visit on January 20!

📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️📖🎉⭐️

I read and reviewed twenty books in December.  The rating stats are seven five-star reviews, eleven four-star reviews, and two-three and one-half-star reviews.  Books are listed by publication date.

Release Date: December 1, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A Dangerous Secret, Book six in Bow Street Brides by Jillian Eaton

Release Date: December 2, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A Dare Too Far, Book two in The Debutante Dares by Charlie Lane

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A Snowfall Sleighride For Lady Serena, Book three in Seasons Of Love by Maggie Dallen and Katherine Ann Madison

Release Date: December 7, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Her White Wedding, Book seven in Dark Duke’s Legacy by Tammy Andresen

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The Shield Maiden’s Highlander Series by Fiona Knightley

Release Date: December 9, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Sutton’s Sins, Book two in The Sinful Suttons by Scarlett Scott

Release Date: December 14, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Not Just Any Earl, Book one in Games Earls Play by Anna Bradley

Release Date: December 20, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A Snowman Wish For Lady Samantha, Book four in Seasons Of Love by Maggie Dallen and Katherine Ann Madison

Release Date: December 21, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The Marquess Of Mischief, Book two in The Rakes Of Mayhem by Anna St. Claire

Release Date: December 25, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A Lady’s Heart Deceived, Book nine in The Duke Of Strathmore by Sasha Cottman

Release Date: December 26, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A Stolen Season: London, Book three in A Stolen Season by Tamara Gill

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A Touch Of Romance, Book two in Romantic Encounters by Paullett

Release Date: December 28, 2021

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Better Off Wed, Book three in Love And Let Spy by Susanna Craig

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2 Fortune Favors The Duke, Book one in Cambridge Brotherhood by Kristin Vayden

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Girls Before Earls, Book on e in Rogues To Lovers by Anna Bennett

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The Redemption Of Philip Thane, Book six in The Penhallow Dynasty by Lisa Berne

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The Rebel And The Rake, Book two in League Of Scoundrels by Emily Sullivan

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2 The Widow Wore Plaid, Book six in The Widow’s Club by Jenna Jaxon

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A Scoundrel Of Her Own, Book Three in The Sinful Wallflowers by Stacy Reid

My Review

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The Temptation Of A Highlander, Book Three in MIdnight In Scotland by Elisa Braden

Book Of The Month

My Review

To be the book of the month, something in the novel must have a special spark.  I need to be instantly immersed in that world even after a month of reading a plethora of other books.  A Lady’s Heart Deceived by Sasha Cottman achieved this goal.  I was fully invested in the characters and the plot at all times.  The storyline stood out to me; I loved Piers’s character due to his inner battle between his hope of a future with Maggie and the threat of this past.  Maggie was magnificent, showcasing a gambit of emotions from devotion, to shock, to acceptance and finally achieving a well-deserved love.  The entire novel is shown brightly.  When I thought of the book of the month, A Lady’s Heart Deceived instantly jumped out!  Do not miss this book.  Sasha Cottman again delivers a magnetic story full of angst, charm, and romance.

A Look Ahead

So far, I have ten advance copies from various publishers and authors.  I also have three previously published books planned.  The titles are listed by release date, and the blog feature date is listed at the end.

Release Date: January 4, 2022

Duke Of Chance, Book sixteen in Lord’s Of Scandal by Tammy Andresen

Blog Feature Date: January 1, 2022

The Duke Who Loved Me, Book one in Those Regency Remingtons by Jennifer Monroe

Blog Feature Date: January 9, 2022

Release Date: January 6, 2022

The Scandalous Vixen, Book two in the Duchess Society by Tracy Sumner

Blog Feature Date: January 4, 2022

Release Date: January 11, 2022

To Kiss A King, Book four in Regency Royals by Jess Michaels

Blog Feature Date: January 9, 2022

Release Date: January 13, 2022

Once Upon An Achingly Beautiful Kiss, Book five in The Whickertons In Love by Bree Wolf

Blog Feature Date: January 10, 2022

Release Date: January 17, 2022

Tempting The Vicar, Book two in The Wicked Waywards by Liana Lefey

Blog Feature Date: January 11, 2022

Release Date: January 18, 2022

The Runaway Duchess, Book two in Dukes Undone by Joanna Lowell

Blog Feature Date: January 12, 2022

Release Date: January 25, 2022

In The Arms Of The Highlander, Book nine in The McTiernays by Michelle Sinclaire

Blog Feature Date: January 13, 2022

Highland Wolf, Book ten in Highland Brides by Lynsay Sands

Blog Feature Date: January 14, 2022

How To Deceive A Duke, Book two in Rebels With A Cause by Samara Parish

Blog Feature Date: January 15, 2022

Previously Published

To Protect A Princess, Book one in Regency Rogues by Jess Michaels

Blog Feature Date: January 6, 2022

Earl’s Choice, Book two in Regency Rogues by Jess Michaels

Blog Feature Date: January 7, 2022

Princes Are Wild, Book Three in Regency Royals by Jess Michaels

Blog Feature Date: January 8, 2022

Until January 20, 2022!

It has been a wonderful holiday season, and I eagerly anticipate 2022!  Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog; your support means everything to me.  I am always looking for opportunities to showcase fantastic books with cover reveals, author interviews, and blog tours.  Contact me for more information.  Let me know what you think of my blog.  I love sharing thoughts of the books I read.  Have an exciting New Year.  Be safe, be kind, and keep reading!

To Kiss A King by Jess Michaels

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I have discovered an amazingly sensual, scorching hot series in the Regency Royals.  The world-building in this series is magnificent.  I adamantly advise reading these four novels in order as they build upon one another and to get the most enjoyment.  I have been waiting for King Grantham’s story.  King Grantham is bogged down with the responsibility and expectations of being King of Athawick.  Grantham is thunderstorms and all things grumpy.  He has distanced himself from the assistance of his family, which makes his loneliness that much more severe.  Lady Ophelia is a guest to the newest Princess of Athawick.  Ophelia is sunshine and vibrancy.  Grantham is instantly drawn to Ophelia but is reluctant to let her in his inner circle.

I enjoyed Grantham’s love of his country and strict sense of duty.  I also loved how only Ophelia could bring levity and light to Grantham.  The connection and sensuality between the couple are electric.  The plot gives answers to what is causing unrest in Grantham’s kingdom that has been present in all four books.  The story is flawless in its delivery and has enough passion and intrigue to keep me raptly turning the page.  I loved the close-knit family dynamic that blossoms throughout each book.  

To Kiss A King is the fourth book in The Regency Royals series.  I cannot recommend these books enough!  Grantham and Ophelia’s romance is by far my favorite.  Jess Michaels continues to create a sensual, romantic world full of vivid characters and plenty of desire that demands the reader’s attention.  I received this book as an ARC. However, I took the time to read the first three books in the series; I am happy with that decision.  I wouldn’t have wanted to miss one of these intricately, lovingly designed romances.  I urge you to fall into the luscious world of Athawick; you will never want to return. 

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book through Netgalley and the publisher.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Publication Date: January 11, 2022

The Duke Who Loved Me by Jennifer Monroe

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Colin is the ninth Duke of Greystoke, head to one of the most powerful noble families in England.  Anna Silverstone is a workhouse girl, a supposed illegitimate nobleman’s daughter.  The journey through a doomed relationship has its poignant, bright moments.  I enjoyed Anna’s optimism and grit.  Anna went through heartbreak over and over yet comported herself with grace.  I had a more challenging time warming to Colin.  I wished he’d had more of a backbone.  However, his inner journey to self-realization seemed genuine.  The couple had a definite spark, and the bond grew, especially towards the end.

The plot was troublesome at times; the unlikelihood of such a match is evident.  However, the storyline produced believable emotion and motivation in the characters.  I rooted for Colin and Anna’s happily-ever-after.  This was a solid start to a new series full of sparkling romance.

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book through the author.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Publication Date: January 4, 2022

Princes Are Wild by Jess Michaels

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I fell utterly, completely in love with Remy and Priscilla’s romance.  I have been eagerly awaiting Remy’s story since book one in this series.  Prince Remy has cultivated his reputation as a carefree scoundrel.  Inside, Remy is empty and lonely.  Priscilla is facing a horrible future and turns to Remy for help.  I loved how vulnerable Remy was underneath his playful façade.  Priscilla has no belief in herself.  Remy brings out the fierce, sensual woman in Priscilla.  Priscilla teaches Remy that love is real and worth the risk.

This is my favorite book in the series so far.  I enjoyed the different timelines and locations.  The plot flowed perfectly.  I could not put this book down.  The character’s flaws and insecurities were displayed in a haunting, vulnerable way.  Princes Are Wild is the third book in the Regency Royals series.  Jess Michaels has created a beautiful, shining gem of a story.  I suggest reading these books in order.  I eagerly await Grantham’s story! 

Publication Date: November 16, 2021

Earl’s Choice by Jess Michaels

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Earl’s Choice, the continuation of the Regency Royals, enriches the series.  I strongly recommend reading these novels in order.  Earl’s Choice takes place in the same timeline as To Protect A Princess.  So much so that, at times, it seemed repetitive.  With that being said, this was a beautiful, angsty romance.

Thomas and Sasha are in an impossible situation.  They instantly fall in love, but their desires conflict with their position.  In some ways, both Thomas and Sasha are tragic figures, suppressed by societal expectations.  The couple’s yearning is poignant.  This novel is an angsty, emotional read.  Both sensual and passionate, this book focuses more on the characters and their development.  My favorite scene is one of Thomas and Sasha holding hands; this scene was the most erotic, sensual, fiery scene in the book.  The plot moved well, and the dialogue and character development were superb.  The book is more of a slow burn than the first book.  I fell in love with both Thomas and Sasha.  I was fully invested in the characters and their romance.

Earl’s Choice is the second book in the Regency Royals series.  This romance mesmerized me.  My heart ached for the couple at times; there were other occasions where the joy was hauntingly beautiful. I enjoyed Thomas and Sasha’s story; I can’t wait to read Remy’s story next.  Jess Michaels has again created a fantastic, steamy, romantic journey I didn’t want to end!

Publication Date: September 21, 2021

To Protect A Princess by Jess Michaels

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This is my first adventure into the world of Jess Michaels, and wow, I can’t believe what I have been missing!  This novel checked all the boxes for me.  There is intrigue, angsty romance, and searing hot passion!

Princess Ilaria of Athawick attends the London Season to celebrate her brother’s ascension to the throne.  Underneath this is the real reason they are there:  to marry Ilaria off to a connected nobleman to secure Athawick’s relationship with the British Empire.  Captain Jonah Crawford is entirely inappropriate, yet the couple is instantly infatuated with each other.  As the attraction blossoms into love, they enter a doomed romance.  They must discover if their love is strong enough to withstand all against them.

Ilaria is a strong, independent woman who fiercely loves.  Ilaria is comfortable in her role as a princess and her sensuality.  Ilaria’s inner battle between what is in her heart compared to her duty to her family is poignant.  Ilaria presents as the perfect princess, yet she is vulnerable and lonely.  Jonah’s life has been turned upside down.  He had to resign from his life’s occupation to deal with responsibilities he did not want.  Jonah’s inner battle to reconcile his past is visceral.  Jonah is the perfect gentleman until Ilaria tears down all his walls.

It is almost love at first sight for this couple.  I loved their romantic journey from raw physical need to blinding, all-encompassing love.  Jonah and Ilaria’s romance is stunning.  The achingly urgent feel of the couple’s journey broke my heart, and I cried at times.  However, I also loved the glorious happily-ever-after even more!

The plot was hauntingly beautiful and unfolded flawlessly.  I was captured on every page.  To Protect A Princess is the first book in the Regency Royal series.  I am ecstatic I found this author and series!  I am already reading the second book!  This book is definitely worth your time; don’t miss it!

Publication Date: July 20, 2021

The Scandalous Vixen by Tracy Sumner

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

What an engaging and enchanting read!  The Scandalous Vixen checks all the boxes; a passionate love story delivered with sharp, witty dialogue.  Roan is known as the Defiant Duke; he cares little for society and its rules.  Roan is impulsive and short-tempered, yet Roan is fiercely loyal to those he loves.  Helena is heir to a shipping empire.  Lady Hell, as she is called, is deliberate, ruthless in business, and careful.  Helena is guarded and lonely.  She is a powerful woman in a world dominated by men.

The plot marries the love-at-first-sight trope with enemies-to-lovers uniquely and perfectly.  Roan and Helena have an instantaneous, powerful connection that is ruined by a mishap at a society encounter on Roan’s part.  Years later, the couple still carries a torch for each other but do nothing but verbally spar and compete.  Roan and Helena must battle their insecurities to find their happily ever after.  

The main characters were intricately and vividly written.  I cared and related to both Roan and Helena.  Helena’s fierceness yet vulnerability resonated with me.  The plot flowed perfectly and was entertaining from beginning to end.  The sensual tension between the couple was palpable and seared the page.  Beloved characters from past books made appearances, and there is a tease to the next book’s couple.  The Scandalous Vixen is the second book (there is also a prequel) in The Duchess Society series.  Tracy Sumner has created a rich world full of charismatic men and fierce women.  Larger-than-life characters, memorable dialogue, and fiery passion create a novel worthy of being called decadent.

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book through the publisher.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Release Date: January 6, 2022

Duke Of Chance by Tammy Andresen

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Duke Of Chance is a beautiful romance of two people who start an engagement of convenience that slowly turns into love.  Chance is a gaming hell owner and renowned rake.  Chance has been hurt before but finds an opportunity when Daisy falls into a scandal.  Daisy has found herself in a compromising position, and Chance gives her a solution.

Chance is a rake, but he also has a vulnerable side.  Chance has layers and depth.  Daisy has been sheltered; however, Daisy was formidable, showing intelligence, empathy, and courage.  The connection between the couple seemed natural and instant.  This burgeoning love story bloomed step by step and unfolded seamlessly.

The plot had a rapid pace.  The storyline caught my attention and held it.  Duke Of Chance is the sixteenth book in the Lords Of Scandal series.  I enjoyed this romance, and I am eagerly awaiting the next book.  Tammy Andresen has again created a story I did not want to end.  This is a brilliant, fiery love story that captured my heart.

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book through the author.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Release Date: January 4, 2022